Las Sierras Chicas y Cuesta Blanca

Hola amigos!

This past weekend was incredible and went by way too fast. I went to another Projects Abroad social on Saturday, where we took a one hour bus ride to Cuesta Blanca, and chilled on a beach for a few hours. It was nice to get out of the city and spend some time with mother nature, but the water was too cold for my liking, so I did not swim. Others did, but I was happy to laze on the beach and chat with other volunteers. Here are some pics from that day.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Saturday evening, I went out for a drink with some friends, but had to get to bed early because the next day I had to meet a group of people to leave for Las Sierras Chicas for a day of horseback riding! It was an incredible day that is definitely a highlight in my trip.

There were 10 of us volunteers who went, and we were picked up at 8:15 to drive 1 hour to a ranch. We followed a two-hour trail up into the small mountains on horseback, then hiked for a half an hour to a beautiful waterfall. There, we were fed a traditional Argentina meal: BBQ. The guide made a fire and roasted chicken, beef, chorizo sausage, and some veggies. We ate this meat with two different kinds of salads, and fresh bread. It was by far the best BBQ I have ever had, and maybe even one of the best meals I have ever had. We trekked back half an hour, then took a different trail with the horses for two hours, then were driven back to Cordoba. On the way home, the guide stopped to buy us some Argentine pastries filled with fruit. All the volunteers topped up this perfect day with a beer on a patio. I felt as if I had been at the spa all day – I felt totally relaxed and at peace with the world.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Another weekend in Argentina well-spent!

On a side note, my project is going well. Hopefully this week I will be painting fences to go around the garden I made. As of now all the digging is done, and all the debris has been moved (I filled over 20 bags with the garbage I found in the earth).

Here is a picture of Ashley and I on our last day together at the garden. At least we will always be able to say that we started this garden, and hopefully it will produce many vegetables for the community in the years to come.

Image

One thought on “Las Sierras Chicas y Cuesta Blanca

  1. What a great day you had. I loved reading all about it and the pics were fantastic. Your writing has such a happy tone. As much as I can’t wait to see you and hear more of your stories, I wish you had more time to spend there as I can detect you are having a wonderful time.

Leave a Reply

