Adios Argentina!

Well, my time in Argentina is now coming to an end. I still have one more day of work, and then I leave for the long journey home.

My weekend was a good one, though it was sad to say good-bye to my roommate, Emilie, who left for Buenos Aires on Saturday morning. She should be in Uruguay right now, and is eventually making her way to Peru for her next placement with Projects Abroad. Friday night we had one last dinner together with my host family family. Even after only a month, this place has definitely become like a third home (after Ottawa and Lennoxville, of course).

Image

Saturday I met up with my friends Alicia and Anne, and we explored Parc Sarmiento downtown, and just strolled around in the nice weather. We stopped for a smoothie at one point, then went to a huge street market that happens on Saturday and Sunday evenings. where I bought a couple things. Here are some photos from our exploring.

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageSunday I met up with the same girls to go to La Cumbre, about 2 hours away from Cordoba. We explored the town via foot, and did a mini hike to a giant Jesus statue, and a pretty sweet view of the town and the mountains. We stopped for another smoothie, and then headed back home.

Image

Image

Image

I am pleased with the progress of my placement, especially over the past couple weeks. This week my supervisor Jean and I put the fence together and fixed it into the ground, then planted a bunch of seeds. Finally this garden is ready to be watered and cared for, and very soon there will be some vegetables! It is fall here (even though today reached 31 degrees), so we planted lettuce, beats, peas, parsley, and another kind of Argentine lettuce. It was very exciting to see the final product of the garden I have worked so hard to make. This used to be a sad-looking patch of grass.

Image

Image

For the last couple days of my placement I am working at the other garden, Eva Peron, preparing it for the same plants as at La Boulevares. I am thankful that another volunteer, Evan (from Canada as well. There is something about Canadians and wanting to help the environment via gardening), who is doing some extra volunteering through helping with the garden, in addition to his sports project.

All in all, this has been a wonderful experience, and I have enjoyed every day of being here. I have learned a lot about gardening, about myself, and about the fascinating Argentine culture. I will miss the people I have met, and I do wish I could travel around this beautiful country some more, but I have another exciting chapter awaiting me in Canada! Upon my return, I am moving to Calgary for four months with my boyfriend Tom, where I will hopefully work at another bakery, and in my spare time will climb and hike as much as possible.

Ciao Argentina, it´s been a blast!

Image

One thought on “Adios Argentina!

Leave a Reply

