Vegan Strawberry Rhubarb Muffins

Most of my free time these days has been dedicated to climbing, so I haven’t been able to focus much on  cooking for my blog; however, I am now getting more comfortable with lead climbing, getting to the point of actually sending 5.10bs on lead, and am working a lot on improving my technique on overhang. So far so good, but this means that rather than spending an evening trying out new recipes for dinner, Tom and I are making a lot of quick meals to get out the door. That being said, we’ve made a lot of delicious tofu scrambles (with chickpeas and taco seasoning), pasta sauces, curries, pizza, veggie burgers, and pad thai – all vegan.

Since I am not baking at work everyday, I am getting a lot of urges to bake. This week I decided to use some 0f the ripe rhubarb growing in the backyard to make vegan strawberry rhubarb muffins (heavy on the rhubarb, since it was the free ingredient). This recipe was inspired by one that I found online.

Ingredients

1 cup soy milk
1 tsp vinegar
1/3 cup sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar (I used about 3/4 the amount of sugar to try and make the muffins more healthy)
1/4 cup oil (I used grape seed oil)
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups diced rhubarb
1/2 cup diced strawberries (you can definitely play on the ratio of fruit in this recipe – I almost used apples too.  I guess just make sure the fruit equals 2 1/2 cups. I’m thinking of using mango instead of strawberries next time!)
2 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp cinnamon
(1/2 tsp salt – I didn’t add this, but I will the next time I use this recipe)

I started by putting the vinegar into the soy milk to curdle it (waiting a few minutes for this to happen). Then, I added the vanilla, sugars, and oil to the liquid.

In a separate bowl I put all the dry ingredients, then added the fruit to coat them well with flour. Finally, I added the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients. The batter seemed thick, but this is normal.

I scooped the batter into a  greased muffin pan, and baked them at 400 degrees Fahrenheit for 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick came out clean. This recipe made 12 muffins.

Completely vegan!

20130605_170839
Tonight Tom and I tried a vegan restaurant called Gratitude Cafe, in an area called Kensington. We had a delicious and filling meal: raw vegan sushi hand rolls, followed by vegan pizza, finishing with a vegan chocolate mousse cake. I was very impressed with the quick service and the delicious food. I will definitely be going back there!

5 thoughts on “Vegan Strawberry Rhubarb Muffins

    • It was not cooked at all – full of veggies and some sort of delicious flavouring, and wrapped in seaweed. There was also some sort of sauce to dip it in. I know you don’t like sushi, but it was good!

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Rhubarb Muffins « Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

