Thai Rice

Now and then it’s fun to have a side dish with some zing that goes beyond plain potatoes, quinoa, or rice. Also, recently I have been loving recipes with fresh lime and lemon flavours. I find cooking with citrus super fun, and I always like to have a lime and lemon on hand.

As I have mentioned before, the cookbook called Vegetarian Cooking by Linda Fraser has some delicious recipes in it, including a mouth-watering side dish section.  This cookbook is small in size, but huge in success; every recipe I have made from it has been exquisite. One day I made the dahl recipe from a previous post, and accompanied it with this rice recipe. This recipe for Thai Rice can be served with any kind of curry, and is also good on its own.

Ingredients
1 stalk lemongrass, finely chopped
2 limes, zested
1 cup brown basmati rice
1 tbsp olive oil
1 onion, chopped
1-inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and minced
1 1/2 tsp coriander seeds (I used coriander powder)
1 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
3 cups vegetable stock
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
lime wedges, to serve

I began by rinsing the rice in cold water  until the water ran clear, and drained it through a sieve. In a large pot I heated the oil and cooked the onion, ginger, spices, lemongrass, and lime zest for about 3 minutes. I then added the rice and let it cook for a minute, then added the vegetable stock. I let the stock reach a boil and then reduced the heat and covered the pot. The pot was left to cook for at least 30 minutes, and was left cooking until there was no longer any liquid in the pot. Next, the pot was removed from the heat. Lastly, I stirred in the cilantro, fluffed the rice, and let stand for another 10 minutes.

20140707_183418

One thought on “Thai Rice

Leave a Reply

